Safra

Beez in the trap

In Fashion on April 27, 2012 at 7:51 pm

I received the best comment of my life right here on this blog. I’m not fuckin’ kidding. When people say these amazing things about talent you apparently have, it’s hard to digest, to be honest. I spent a couple of minutes trying to absorb it. I wasn’t sure if it was real or not. But fuck, it must be. I’m half-wasted talent. I say that because I’m horrible with deadlines, I sell myself short. I was told by many people I wasn’t good at what I (was trying to) do. And I guess, I considered talent to be when you can do what you do day-in, day-out and get endless praise for it. Kind of like Sarah Nicole Prickett. Which is ironic, because I don’t think she wants to even be seen as some kind of model example. Truth is, you can’t really model your life after someone else because that same person you wish you were probably spent a lot of time hating themselves.

I remember my little cousin’s friend saying to me “Oh my gosh! You’re me in five years!” That was five years ago. I took it with a grain of salt then. But I roll my eyes at that cringe-inducing comment now. That’s the lamest fucking comment anyone could ever say to anyone. But someone saying they hope to read a book about your life and they wish they had your talent, that’s fuckin’ amazing. Because it’s humbling. That makes you realise something that you probably never realised you had. It’s not about the Pulitzer Prize, though that is nice. It’s about people inspiring the people they don’t know they’re inspiring… at all. Who knows, maybe that kid that made that comment will walk away and cultivate something from within their soul, and  they’ll unconsciously pass that down to someone. And then the cycle will continue. And maybe, just maybe, you’ll realise that whatever you’re doing is worth it in the end.

I won’t get into personal issues, you know, family, friends, lovers, whoever else, who ever tried to cock block. Because at this point in time, that shit is completely irrelevant.

That said, go Nicki Minaj.

Leave a Reply

