Safra

Musing: Pretty Boys

In Men, model, musing on July 24, 2011 at 6:28 pm


Jaco van den Hoven via Models.com

After looking at countless pictures of supple skin, piercing eyes and the underdeveloped bodies of young Adonis’, I had to ask myself a serious question: does being attracted to guys that look like girls make a lesbian?

Ever since the Andrej Pejic craze, androgynous men are the rave. And it could be a retaliation to the Freja Beha Erichsen’s of the modelling world who are have more than their fair share of 15 minutes. Shoot, I was attracted to her too. And yes, it is fascinating being intrigued by women who could either or (a guy or girl), ultimately for me, when I strip it down (pun intended) the one with the additional parts wins (and I don’t mean artificial insemination).

But I wonder if it’s attracting anymore than it is bafflement. There is something really intriguing about these man-girls hitting the modelling scene. And while I consider Andrej to be the extreme, I do find pretty guys to be sexy in a precarious way. It might be a bit unrealistic in the ‘real’ world, but it’s quite an interesting concept in fashion.

When they’re young, as these young lads I’m gushing over, they remind of Leonardo DiCaprio’s deceitful innocent. Yes, he did have that je ne sais quoi once upon a time. And no, I don’t know him personally, but from what I see, he’s turned out to be the quintessential alpha male despite those enchanting blue eyes. Yeah, actually, I think, because of how their looks, they can get away with burning down a building. Looks can definitely be deceiving.

As for questioning my sexuality, I don’t know. While I do thoroughly enjoy looking at women, I love them, I think I’m just attracted to pretty faces, and that’s where it ends. It’s all pretty much a superficial admiration for nice eyes and, I suppose, porcelain skin. Ultimately what always gets me manly men, because I’m a man’s girl. I’m attracted to hunters, and I can’t really imagine beautiful boys being any more self-sufficient than myself. But then again, there I go underestimating them once again…

See more of my favourite ‘pretty’ boys on my TUMBLR.

Leave a Reply

