Safra

Out with the old…

In culture, Fashion on May 20, 2011 at 1:26 pm


Supra Skate Shoes with the Canada flag via Supra on Foot

It’s about two days until I head back to the UK. Once again. New life, new start, less screw ups. Well, the latter is inevitable – I’ve experienced some royal mishaps already – but it’s good times. At least it should be.

I know where to start; not from the beginning, somewhere in the middle. You know, I remember being told, when I first moved to London, that you could create a whole new identity if you wanted. But I don’t want to do that. I’m me. I’d rather create an extension of myself.

I’m a Canadian of Caribbean heritage. I grew up in Toronto. I traveled, when I a kid, to my family’s home country – Dominica – went to the US for one month when I was 18. And never traveled again until 2008. I was 26 (I’m still in my 20s, don’t get it twisted). So, you can imagine the frustration I felt with Toronto. When I came back to Toronto in 2009, things somewhat appeared to be getting better.

But I mean, really, I don’t want to go to The Bay, or Holt Renfrew every week for a fashion event. I’m sorry, I just don’t. It’s the same old shit here. Especially when it comes to the fashion scene. Some people don’t want to rock the boat about this, but, as much as I support the organic talent in Toronto be it the designers, and the culture. The scene can be a different flex altogether. It’s in its own little orbit that’s far away from the rest of the fashion globe. Mind you, there are some brands, concepts, people that are open to new things. I’ve been very fortunate to meet a few. And I hold those few very closely to me. But I’m not going to be knocking down doors that quite frankly, just a waste of my time. And those people, places, things that have been on their high horses know exactly who and what I’m talking about.

So, I have to try to make sure this is it, you know. But before I go, here’s a little homage to the place that’s been my home. I did see a lot of beauty in you, I really did.

See more on my Tumblr

Leave a Reply

