Safra

What I’ve been up to

In Fashion on April 15, 2011 at 10:08 am

I was dreading the day. I didn’t want to do it. But after six years, I took the dive.

Styling traumatized me. I’ve only done it three times. Well, four minus my cousin’s event – that was fun. But something went terribly wrong. And as much as I love pretty pictures, I could not bare the responsibility of loosing friendships, money, my mind. I never dreamed of being a stylist. I didn’t pursue it. It just happened. I’m natural go-getter. I’ll make something out of nothing and before you know it, I’ve got clothes, (polished) models, make-up and photographers working for minimal or no fee. But after the final blow, when I fell out with a good friend after working on her project (no details, please), I was offered an opportunity, with a photographer, I was filled with doubt, and I screwed that person over. However, that’s what happens when you’re messed up.

I probably would have kept styling away had I not reached out to magazine editors. In conjunction with all the fashion-focused things I am doing right now. But I figured, I have a bit of time on my hands, and after seeing the quality of work by some exceptionally talented people, it’s time to give it another go.

I don’t aspire to be Lucinda Chambers, or Edward Enninful. Nicola Formichettt – won’t even go there. But maybe Chioma Nnadi, Sarah Harris (wink), Harriet Quick (double wink). Hilary Alexander. Laura Craik.Clare Coulson. Bronwyn Cosgrave – it will take some work, but I’ll get there. As for Robin Givhan, I have only been talking about her on this blog forever. Though she doesn’t style. But people gifted wordsmiths who use images an extension of expression.

I’m doing it. Not with expectations, but to utilize something inside me. Something bigger than the flesh. But I won’t even try to control it – it has to tie into my writing. And it’s all in the hands of capital H.I.M.

Leave a Reply

