Safra

Saving Japan: Kitsuné and Colette

In culture, Fashion on March 22, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Scenario: I care about the world – particularly the tragedies in Japan, but in terms of contributing, I don’t know where to start. But, there is a solution. This is where my fashion influence comes in, right?

Um, well, the first thing to do, is research. Right about now, though there are many brands (be it private, or public) voicing genuine concern for the country, this is a time when exploitation is looming. So if you do something, it’s crucial to be able to articulate your reasons for support. And not because you think it’s the right thing to do. This is important. Don’t be pretentious. And it’s not just the tragedy, but about observing the end results once things – no matter how slow – recover.

So, for one, I bought my Kitsuné rescue jacket from Colette. I’ve been a fan of this store for years, and it’s known fact that Colette is a strong supporter (and endorser) of Japanese culture.

via SlamXHype

Secondly, Kitsuné, is essentially a Euro-Japanese collective – one I’ve also admired for years. So I trust that my contribution will go towards the cause. And little-by-little, everyday, if I’m not reading it in the paper, I’m watching news snippets, no matter how depressing, because it’s my duty to know.

Leave a Reply

