Safra

Menswear: General Idea

In Fashion, Fashion Heat, Good Look, style on February 23, 2011 at 6:31 pm


via Getty

Before I dive into the jungle known as Milan fashion week, I thought I’d take another minute to recognize Bumsuk Choi’s General Idea. Why now? Well, because if it wasn’t for the blog 00o00, I would not have know what General Idea was. Real talk. My idea of menswear has, for a long time, been a mix of high and low. With brands like General Idea being reserved for stylish men who mix-it-up with H&M or American Apparel, meaning, unless you’re well versed with these lines, you can’t really tell the difference. The type of guys who wear their Comme des Garçons hearts on their sleeves (literally), and own those white-soled black Supra kicks. And I can’t always be bothered trying to figure it out. (‘Where did you get those jeans? That coat? It was from who? Oh blimey!)

But General Idea – and no, it’s not the pink camouflage – is something I would wear. And it makes sense. Its outdoorsy palette, suburban concept, and practicality is refreshing. And the slim cuts would be easy to blend into my wardrobe.

I’d give them ago. They’ve got a slim stock list, you can find some online stores via their website.

Leave a Reply

