Safra

Musing: Lea T

In culture, Fashion on February 9, 2011 at 11:57 pm


Lea T for Vogue Paris via david icke

My first real foray into cross-dressing came in the form of the colourful RuPaul. His hit “Supermodel (You Better Work)” was an ode to the catwalk queens of the `90s, but not only that, it was a message of empowerment and learning to “love thyself.” I was enamoured. And since then, I’ve always had a soft spot for men who dress and essentially are – women.

In my late teens, my best friend and I (along with her late, fabulous cousin) would partake in the adventures of Fashion Cares: a fashion gala sponsored by M-A-C cosmetics in partnership with AIDS Committee of Toronto. This was all for the cause of research for Aids, and providing resources for gays and lesbians in Toronto. Mind you, I didn’t really care about all that stuff anymore than I did “pretending” to volunteer at the event so I could star gaze, watch the fashion show and see the performances. But that after party, boy oh boy, that was the best part.

Predominantly male, beautiful, gay, and oozing sexuality. The Fashion Cares after-parties were some of the sexiest events I had ever witnessed. I also took interest in the Pride parade, but after a while, admittedly, I lost interest when I realized that the most beautiful men seemed to be attracted to their own. I’m kidding… kind of.


via azeialaia

So I dunno, I’m not that phased by Lea T, because she was already ingrained my culture. Not directly, of course. But her role as a rising supermodel is not something extremely surprised about. She’s the body, the cheekbones, she’s Brazilian. And what, she has a penis? Quite frankly, that’s the the minute aspect of her success – in my eyes, anyway.


via dianepernet

But as I said when talking about Crystal Renn, I understand the media’s need to sensationalize. And I also understand that there’s been a high-rate of suicide among young homosexuals – to the point that it seems as though, even if we live in the future, we’re still a generation of the past.

Let me make this clear: once again. I’m not surprised that Lea T is beautiful. I’m not surprised that Givenchy‘s Riccardo Tisci saw her and decided to make her the brand’s spokesmodel. But what I can’t fathom, is the lack of willingness to understand who someone is. I’ll admit, I have been ignorant. Many-a-times. But I do not think it’s right, or fair, to hold someone’s person on a cross because of what they are and make some kind of mockery of it.

Lea T in Givenchy Couture via Love is the new black

Lea T will be going on Oprah, which is great. But let’s hope that Oprah uses this appearance as a means to spread the word of an important message, not capitalize on a trend.

Leave a Reply

