Safra

Musing: Uniqlo + J

In Fashion on February 1, 2011 at 1:57 am


Images courtesy of Getty

Yes, the cut outs look a tab amateur, but whatever. I’m good.

I’ve about Jil Sander’s influence on my life before, but GQ.com’s latest article “How to Be a Minimalist,” got me thinking.

The thing is, there is no way to be a minimalist. In the article, the original Jil Sander, who designed a line of affordable lines for super brand Uniqulo talks about being modern, as a substitute for “minimal,” and how she hopes “that modern design will spread all around the globe.” OK. That’s all well and good. But, either you are, or you aren’t. I am a minimalist. But that just means that I prefer no logos, and understated colours like black, and easy pieces. I’m low key. And what influenced me was the stark white minimalism of Wall steet `80s. It’s not some new phenomenon. And while it could be a re-introduction to an out of touch generation. The people who do embrace this concept should be well aware of it.

I mean, look at this.

A jacket from the collection. Clean, white. With practical pockets and snaps.


Next we have a black 3/4 blouse with a pussy bow. So far so good, right?

Now we have a navy blue cotton tuck skirt. See how I’m playing with colours. That’s because you can do that with minimalism.

Now, we finish the look (okay, not completely). I should say, we’ve not added these brogues. Flat, with a bit of funk.


OK, now we’ve finished the look with this market leather bag. Notice that there’s six degrees of matching here. The sole of the shoes go with the bag, which goes with the shirt, and because the tones are monochromatic, you can mix ’em up. Top it off, everything is, technically, under one brand. I had to bring that up because Tom Ford had said in an interview with Harper’s Bazaar UK that he didn’t like to see women wear head-to-toe of the same brand. It, to him, didn’t show any personality. I do agree, to a point. But if that’s the case, then the whole minimalism trend, it itself, represents uniformity, which has no identifiable originality, does it. I beg to differ. This trend, to me, allows to play with your personality through colour, accessories, hair – the whole nine. So don’t buy into that.

If you need proof on the colour of and simplicity of minimalism, see for yourself:

Shout out to Luciano for the video.

Images via Net-A-Porter and Uniqlo.

  1. I think you got talent in writing posts. Waiting for more posts
    bukmacher

  2. […] continuous musing, for the first time I bought my Uniqlo +J was in March of this year. I bought a military green […]

Leave a Reply

