Safra

Fashion blog backlash

In Fashion, Fashion Heat, In the Know on January 30, 2011 at 8:34 pm

I’ve been reading quite a bit of interesting blog posts today. Yes. I’ve finally actually started reading blogs. When I initially started following blogs, I did it based on people’s opinions without really understanding the logic behind them. Needless to say, I was rather bored of blogs that consisted of pretty people taking pictures of themselves and all these unwarranted accolades. And then, it became an explosion. Post a picture of yourself wearing second-tier high-street clothing, and BOOM, you’ve got yourself about, what, 50+ comments?

When I started my blog, I had no intention of infusing myself. I’ve slaved at some of the world’s most coveted fashion outlets, and I’ve stalked the editors of my favourite fashion magazines for that freelance gig. I’ve come close, I’ve hit, and I’ve missed. A lot. So this blog, was me living a dream. And this dream, slowly, turned into an outlet that led my reality. Now, I’ve got a might long way to go. Sure, I could use some work. And yes, I’m still finding myself. But Safraonfashion.com has become an outlet that is now dear to me. I no longer use it as a means “to get that job,” but to actually build my brand. And the finished product makes me proud.

Part two. Upon taking this blog more seriously, I’ve learned the importance of creative a community. Not as some self-aggrandizing marketing machine. But actually connecting with people. Learning. Fashion blogging, the real fashion blogging, is hard work. There’s research to be done to create an interesting post. And you have to conjure up ways to be unique, which is hard enough to do as it is. But creating a community proves support. Constructive feedback, if you will. And along the way, you actually learn something about yourself.

I mean, hey, community is important to the church. And it’s no different for bloggers, right. Now, on another note, I came across a very interest post by the UK blog The Clothes Whisperer about Vogue Italia’s Editor Franca Sozziani’s rant about fashion bloggers getting frontrow. I’ve gone on Vogue.it‘s site and seen Sozziani’s admiration for blogs. I’ve seen her profile Claire Sulmers of The Fashion Bomb blog as “The Black Blog,” because of urban-based content (a categorization I’m not particularly fond of), and upon further digging, I noticed she’s even given Sulmers a job as a freelance reporter. Obviously, we can’t really blow Ms. Sozziani’s comments out of context, but she is talking about blogs writ-large. Essentially.

But I digress. This so-called backlash should be seen as a wake-up call. I am certainly thankful for it, because by making an effort to become apart of the community, I have learned to establish an actual interest in blogs. Now, I read blogs, and I know what I like. I know what I can connect with. And yes, it’s okay to admit it. I know what inspires me. And it gives me hope. While we’re not out to change the world, we can use our blogs to bring us one step – or 10 – closer to our dream. Something so damn simple.

Leave a Reply

