Safra

Musing: Shala Monroque

In Fashion, Icon on January 24, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Is Shala a girl you should know? I’m not sure. Is she my obsession? Not quite. I do however, believe that she’s a tremendously hard worker who is now enjoying the fruits of her labour. Despite the fact that she’s been in the art world for quite a long time, people are only catching on now. Shala is one of the many beautiful, driven women of colour in the tight-knit art and fashion worlds, but, much to her chagrin, she’s being sited as the “party girl,” and “girlfriend” of Larry Gagosian. I’m sure she doesn’t mind. And yes, the Pop magazine Editor-at-Large title is a good, if not, great look, but still. Let us not undermine her passion and tenacity.


Her ebony skin sparkles. Her cat-shaped eyes seduce. Her mona lisa smile is a facade – she’s more powerful than you. And, because she’s a clever girl, she’s playing on her strengths. And people are loving it. But, Shala, sweet Shala, you are much more than a blurb in “Vogue’s People are talking about…” pages. I know, for a fact, that you have the power to mould a culture. And I mean, not just for wearing head-to-toe Prada, but really creating a culture for young black women to look up to.

I like you Shala, I really do. And I won’t be surprised if we come full circle, eventually.

Leave a Reply

