Safra

The Death of Style

In Fashion, Op Ed. on April 26, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Kimberly Stewart – Fashion Conscious

Magazines are the go-to for what’s trendy,  runways are the glitzy platform for a designer’s hard work (and money), and Celebrities – ultimately – are the guinea pigs for who wore it best. But as much as fashion is entertaining, we’re living in a time when the lines between fashion and style have run amok.

Before heading to a press meeting, I’d skimmed through an issue of i-D magazine and drew some inspiration from their lover’s issue. The models that caught my eye were a real-life Parisian couple (referred to as one of Paris’ most stylish) dawning sweatpants and layers of knits. I liked what they wore so much I decided to pile on the cardis. Considering it was windy outside, it was a good call. My nails were painted in Zoya’s Robyn, a creamy sea blue, with a braid drooped to the side and Burberry shades. Considering I’m already six-foot in four-inch heels, I must have looked a bit trendy, I suppose. After the meeting, I grabbed a stronbow (beer for girls) and sat on the patio of a trendy west-end hotelier. Lounging and drinking, as you can imagine, put something into perspective.

Lou Doillon – Stylish

When old Hollywood glamazons and socialites featured in the Vogues and Harper’s Bazaars it wasn’t who they wore,  it was how it was worn.  In Halston’s day, with his Halstonette’s and Yves Saint Laurent’s rise to iconic status, it became cool to wear designers and follow what was called – a trend. As told by the godfather of trending David Wolfe, “when [trends] began in the 1970s, Kenzo was ruling the world with his trend-heavy presentations in Paris that revolutionized the way fashion was communicated, merchandised and designed. And in those days it was very fast. It was very much like a costume and everybody but everybody bought into it.” What exactly does that mean? Well, basically, the whole idea of being trendy started in the `70s. Trending today is just as, if not, more ephemeral. But while the fashionista is a slave to trends, the stylish person can – and should – probably wear a paperpag with je ne sais quoi. So I’d like to understand why the fashion obsessed is the focus of so many style bloggers (and fashion magazine’s style pages), when they’re really anything but. Shouldn’t people be looking to the fashion world for trends and glorifying people who naturally exude style?

Fashion models – the top ones –  and musicians, for the most part, are stylish.  Kudos to style photogs that  notice. If someone’s a walking fashion magazine, even if they do work at one and the chassé doesn’t look natural, it probably isn’t.

Am I fashion conscious? To a degree, but possibly slimmer than I thought.  Back to the patio lounging, my eyes stumbled on a girl with a faux-fur vest – in spring – and the latest hidden heel platforms. This person, who is a Toronto fashion authority, though considered stylish, striked me as  painfully fashion obsessed at that moment. I shook my head and went back to my paper. No, I’m not a fashionista at all.

  1. Really enjoyed your perspective on this! I completely agree that fashion is becoming rather forced and trendy… hope to go back to the older way when people with natural ability were the center of interest.

Leave a Reply

