Safra

Out with the Punk!

In designer, Fabric, Fashion, Fashion Heat, style on April 23, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Fashion Editors are calling for a nouveau punk revolution. They’re saying women are rebelling. Maybe it’s a strike against the pretty gowns some designers sent down the runway. They’d rather embrace pairing tulle with spikes than look like societe’s ideal of the wholesome girl.

I see nothing wrong with Ms. Wholesome. I’ll freely admit she’s what I strive for. She’s classy and smart. But I’ve taken a keen interest to goth girl because she’s très chic. Goth is elegant, has depth and is androgynous. The goth girl is the smart person’s wholesome girl. While Goth continues to evolve, becoming more hipsterish and emotional when young, it’s  consistent. Goth can be beautified, or kept monochromatic, it doesn’t matter, the point is it’s always there. Gareth Pugh has brought a much-needed glamour to goth while Joseph Altuzarra made it more approachable. Rick Owens is more of a modernist, but there’s a hint of goth empowerment in his collections, always.

So, I’m rebelling against punk.  I’d rather be timeless than hold on to something I’ll part ways with once I’ve noticed a grey hair or two.  At least this way, I can exchange leather with silk, and replace my sheer black t-shirts with a Victorian style blouse. It will be a transition rather than a metamorphosis, growing more fruitful with age.

Leave a Reply

