Safra

A man’s touch

In Fashion, Fashion Heat, Good Look, I heart, Shopping, Trend on December 17, 2009 at 9:27 pm

(Pharrell Williams on the Town)

If I were a boy…

I’d dress like a man. But even if I’m not, I much prefer the art of men’s clothing. Whether it’s biker boots, sneakers, plaid shirts or rugged leather jackets, men’s fashion seems to center around the luxury of making a hard-wearing concept look über cool. Whereas if done by a woman, it would either be too  “dyke” looking or just plain “durty.”

But I’ve been this way since I was a young’un. As a pre-teen, my statement was meshing my father’s wardrobe with my own. Particularly during the `90s when pants were baggy enough to fit at least three people in them. I loved that time – I really did. As I’ve grown older, I haven’t yet figured out if I have a signature style. But if I do, it’s probably my love for monochromatic colour palettes with a masculine reference. Maybe that’s why Gareth Pugh, Meadham Kirchhoff and Rad Hourani are amongst my favorite designers.

During my frequent musings at H&M and Urban Outfitters, rather than rummaging through the women’s isles, I now dive right over to the men’s section. It’s my own little amusement park, and oh the joys in trying on cardigans alongside the fellas! I don’t particularly like the attention, but maybe the benefits of being a woman is that I get the best of both worlds. Even when I’m dressed super feminine, I always have to garnish the finished look with a tinge of masculinity. When I shop for sneakers, I don’t buy ones made women, oh gosh no! I want the ones made for guys, which in my opinion, is so much more attractive anyway.

I did, and still do, have a knack for femininity. But I can’t stand (or at least no longer can) ultra-girly high-street stores like Costa Blanca and Miss Selfridge. Perhaps because I don’t like the manufactured girly look. You know, the cookie-cutter separates you won’t be the only one sporting when you see every third girl wearing it. It’s actually quite appalling.

Burberry Rabbit Fur Snood (for the neck)

Pretty Green – Black Label Coat

Lyle & Scott Cardigan

Bleach & Destroy Jeans

Maison Martin Margiela High-top leather trainers with Straps

Belstaff leather messenger bag

 

Leave a Reply

