Safra

Archive for November 21st, 2009|Daily archive page

Engage: Ethics + Aesthetics = Sustainable Fashion

In art, culture, designer, Fashion on November 21, 2009 at 5:01 pm

Take from the Pratt Institute website.

***Image: Alabama Chanin, sleeveless dress from the “Song Birds Collection,” 2008.

Photo by Russ Harrington

November 20, 2009 – February 20, 2010

Panel Discussion with Artists and Designers
January 26, 2010, 6pm, Room 213, adjacent to the gallery

The first American exhibition to explore the work of artists and designers who seek practical and symbolic solutions to the question of integrating sustainable practices into the fashion system.

The exhibition is organized around three main themes: Reduce, Revalue and Rethink, expanding on the traditional ecological mantra Reduce, Reuse, Recycle by acknowledging the importance of aesthetics within fashion design.

Guest Curators: Francesca Granata and Sarah Scaturro

Artists/Designers: Bodkin, Alabama Chanin, Susan Cianciolo, Kelly Cobb, Loomstate, Rogan, Max Osterweis/ Zoë Sheehan Saldaña, SANS, Slow and Steady Wins the Race, Uluru, and Andrea Zittel and Tiprin Follett/Smockshop

A full color catalog of the exhibition will be available, made possible by a generous grant from the Coby Foundation, Ltd.

Who: Pratt Manhattan Gallery

What: Ethics + Aesthetics = Sustainable Fashion exhibition

When: November 20, 2009 – February 20, 2010 (Panel Discussion
January 26, 2010)

Where: 144 West 14th Street, 2nd floor
New York, NY 10011

For more info, visit: Pratt.edu.

One to Watch: Graeme Armour, Paris, France

In designer, Fashion, France, Good Look, One to Watch on November 21, 2009 at 4:51 pm


I came across this designer while browsing through the Kingdom of Style blog, and I did a bit of research. I don’t have to feel so bad, as British Vogue did a write up on the collection in October.

Mr. Graeme Armour is not a newbie, though he kind of is, but sometimes it takes a while before people take notice. When it comes to any designer who I feel is one to watch, again, I must stress that their clothes are a reflection of my personal style. And yes, if I could, I would wear them to death each and every day.

Which leads me to Graeme. His Spring/Summer 2010 collection has all the elements I admire. Come to think of it, maybe I should have coffee with Lady Gaga, I mean, essentially she seems to like a lot of the same designers I do. (I say this because she’s a fan of this one, too).

Catch Armour’s collection at the  On|Off showroom, Galerie Motte & Rouart, 74 Rue Quincampoix, Paris 75003.

In the Know: Valentino Doc on the Oscar Shortlist

In culture, designer, Fashion, Film, In the Know, News on November 21, 2009 at 3:54 pm


Remember that fashion documentary you were supposed to see? What’s it called, Valentino: The Last Emperor. Right, well, according to Fashion Week Daily, the doc is in the running for becoming best documentary at the Oscars.

The film was released in March, and I remember wanting to see it so badly. I still never got a chance to, but considering I’m a slave to the art of fashion (not a slave to fashion), this film is a keeper.

Valentino hit over 200 theatres nation wide, and I can only imagine how it was received globally. Mr. Valentino has also had parties galore in celebration of film.

In the Know: Gap is making a comeback

In Fashion, In the Know, News on November 21, 2009 at 3:42 pm


During the late `90s I thought Gap was the brand of all brands. As we streamed into the `00s and slebrities became the focal point in their commercials, if you were an `80s baby like myself, you were trapped between the sensationalization of pop culture and original thought; which meant that you wore Gap clothes. You literally fell into the Gap. But then they started to “fall” their own bench off so to speak, and my focus shifted on to newer, hipster brands like Urban Outfitters. Another turn off was paying full price for a pair of jeans, sweater or whatever then seeing a mark down for the items at an astonishing 70 to even 80 per cent. “I paid $60 for that sweater, now I can get it for $19.99?” And not only that, the momentum just started to drift.

But now, according to Drapers Record, Gap’s profits have risen 25% (and you may not know what that means, but they’re basically coming back on top), and I believe that’s thanks to their immaculate marketing scheme. Getting renowned designer Stella McCartney on board for a limited GapKids collection, and their slebrity endorsed 1969 Premium Jeans Collection was a good look too.

We’ll see. Maybe I’ll fall in love with Gap again.

In the Know: Style Rookie heading to Tokyo

In Fashion, Good Look, In the Know on November 21, 2009 at 3:19 pm

The fashion blogger we all love, Tavi Gevinson aka the Style Rookie, is going to meet Rei Kawakubo of Comme des Garcons. Word has it that she’ll be the guest of honor at the fashion house’ holiday party on Friday November 27 at the 10 Corso Como store in Tokyo.

Call it what you want, but Tavi is a testament that dreams really do come true.

Fashion Heat: Charles Guislan

In designer, Fashion, Fashion Heat, France, Good Look on November 21, 2009 at 1:47 am

(Image courtesy of Vanessa Jackman)

This is what you call a fashion muse. The young, burgeoning fashion designer is the future of fashion, a 16 year-old whose existence is impeccable.

Now, I’ve come across a lot of fashion bloggers, muses that are raved as something big, but there’s something in this boy’s eyes that are just screaming at me. I look forward to sitting with him at a fashion week one of these days.

He’s the one.

Fashion Heat: Park & Cube

In culture, Fashion Heat on November 21, 2009 at 1:08 am


Meet Shini Park. She’s not one of my favorite fashion bloggers, she is my favorite fashion blogger.

I’m just loving the pungent colour in her photos. This is exactly what I’ve been looking for.

Park & Cube.

In The Know: Handbag’s 2009 Online Fashion Awards

In culture, Fashion, In the Know on November 21, 2009 at 12:52 am



So this cute little magazine UK website called Handbag.com is having their first ever 2009 Online Fashion Awards. The panel consists of many online fashion authorities including Handbag Fashion Director Belinda White, Courtney Blackman (Fashion Business club), Laura Street (Fab Sugar), and Leon Bailey-Green (The Online Fashion Agency).

Fashion Blog nominees are as follows:

Susie StyleBubble (of course)

Fashionologie

Mademoiselle Robot

Knight Cat

Disney Roller Girl

Park & Cube

I must say though, I understand they may be patriotic in wanting to keep it British, but they could have put beloved Bryanboy and Tommy Ton on there, but I digress.

You can also vote for online e-tailers, your favorite fashion brands and more. Vote for your chance to win 250 (GBP).

Just so you know, you’ll be voting for me next year.

For more info, visit: Handbag.com.