Safra

Archive for November 20th, 2009|Daily archive page

Off the Sales Rack: Due West/Next Door Sale, Toronto, Canada

In Fashion, Icon, Shopping, steal, toronto on November 20, 2009 at 11:39 pm


Well you know, maybe I’m just happy… that’s why I’m posting all these sales on my blog.

Christmas, Boxing Day, New Year’s, it’s the most wonderful time of the year. What other time (unless you’re super cool) can you really bother to get your favorite brands at a discounted price? You better move fast because Toronto street retailers Due Wes/Next Door is having a one-day only sale, and I’m talking sale.

From 10AM to 7PM,  experience the wonderful world of what retail calls a pre-Christmas sale. In this case, you’ll get the hipest fashion brands Canada Goose (though that one’s legendary), Mackage, G-Star, D&G, John Varvatos, Diesel, Acne Jeans, Filippa K, Energie, Dsquared, Miss Sixty, Seven, Rock & Republic, True Religion, and my-gosh-there-are-too-many-to-name-and-I-didn’t-know-this-store-was-that-hot at a discounted rate of up to 70%off. My gosh, this is gorgeous. But why couldn’t this be closer to my pay date?

Who: Due West/Next Door Clothing

What: Pre-Christmas Sale up to 70% off

When: Sunday November 22, 2009, 10AM to 7PM

Where: 431 & 433 Queen Street West, Toronto, ON M5V 2A5

For more info, visit: Due West Clothing Company.

In The Know: Lady Gaga at the ACC, Toronto, Canada

In culture, Fashion, In the Know, music on November 20, 2009 at 10:58 pm


So, I guess now is the time to find out what all the fuss is about. The night I met Lady Gaga, approximately one year ago, it was in a dingy London nightclub called Punk. But I left early because my friend was in a miserable mood. If I had known better I probably should have stayed.

Ms. Gaga is going to be in Toronto. Screw the small venues. She’s headlining her own show at the ACC as a matter of fact, she’s got guys under her (no pun intended) with emerging acts Kid Cudi and Semi Precious Weapons as opening acts. And his royal fartness – Kanye West – has been dropped from the catalogue.

I keep hearing what an amazing performer this woman is, we’ll let’s confirm. I’ll probably see it for myself when she comes around this part of town. In the mean time, check out a sample of what she can do in Beyoncé ‘s “Video Phone” video.

Tickets prices are (incl. GST) $49.50 & $57.50 and available at Ticketmaster and LiveNation.

Who: Lady Gaga featuring Kid Cudi and Semi Precious Weapons

What: Flamboyant Concert

When: Sat, November 28, 2009, 7:30PM

Where: Air Canada Centre, 50 Bay St., Suite 500, Toronto, ON, M5J 2L2

For more info, visit: LiveNation.

Off the Sales Rack: Balenciaga Handbag Sale, Montreal, Canada

In Fashion, Off The Sales Rack, Shopping on November 20, 2009 at 10:19 pm


I don’t really intend on making all that much of a conscious effort to post sales, but when I came across the event I was a bit lost. I scratched my head and squinted my eyes as I read the event. But it’s true, Canadian fashion retailer Beyond The Rack is have a sale for my favorite fashion brand – Balenciaga. They state you’ll have a chance to purchase the handbags at an astonishing 50% off. If this is true – that’s crazy.

Consider yourself lucky if you get your hand on one. But hold up: you’ll have to sign up via the website first. And don’t be surprised if there’s a waiting list after seeing this post.

Who: Beyond The Rack

What: Balenciaga Hand bag sale (up to 50% off)

When: Monday November, 23 – Friday November, 25, 2009.

Where: Via the BTR online store.

For more info, visit: BeyondTheRack.com

Fashion Heat: Doll Boutique, London, UK

In Fashion, Shopping on November 20, 2009 at 9:57 pm


The latest online fashion dwelling I came across: Doll Boutique.

The Scotland-based fashionista’s heaven carries it all: bags, shoes, and cosmetics. There are loads of great, affordable designer brands including American Retro, the super hot LNA (see their Ripped Olivia Leggings), low-rise jeans from JBrand, coats by Rizal and so, so much more. However, the biggest must have on the site is the mink Karl Lagerfeld i-Phone holder. Hot damn! Get it while it’s still available.

Fashion Heat: Luella, London, UK

In designer, Fashion, Fashion Heat, Rouse on November 20, 2009 at 9:34 pm


I’m sure by now we’ve all heard the news; one-time cool girl line Luella will not be selling anymore. I really only heard of the line while in the Vogue offices, but I remember it sure was a funky brand.

Owner Luella Bartley started the line in 1999 after a stint as a Fashion Journalist for Vogue, The Face and Dazed. She experienced success designing for US retailer Target‘s Go International line and launching a limited edition bag collection in Hong Kong, she was also in high demand by the likes of countless slebrities including Cate Blanchett, Kate Bosworth, Reese Witherspoon and Sienna Miller.

You can still get whatever’s left at Net-A-Porter, FarFetch and Colette.

I Heart Gareth Pugh, London, UK

In designer, Fashion, Good Look, I heart, Rouse, Wish List on November 20, 2009 at 6:32 pm


I don’t own any pieces yet by UK-designer Gareth Pugh yet, but I promise you, not only will I have up-the-minute releases, but I’ll be sitting front row at all his fashion shows.

If there’s one designer I’d wear everyday, Mr. Pugh is in my top three list. I was introduced to his collection years ago via Canada’s Fashion Television, followed by the pages of i-D magazine; I was immediately smitten. I don’t just want raven on about how wonderful he is, but the reason it makes perfect sense for me is because his collection is very much reflective of my personality.

Pugh’s line is dramatically fashionable and very historic. When you look at his line, you can see victorian era emblems, and as I mentioned in my previous post about Rad Hourani, gothic references are done with meticulous precision.

You don’t have to be brave to wear Gareth Pugh’s line, you have to have taste.

One to Watch: Ashish, London, UK

In designer, Fashion, London, One to Watch on November 20, 2009 at 5:30 pm

It’s no wonder so many of the fashion obsessed always tend to look abroad for inspiration. Whether it’s the magazines, music and most importantly – the fashion, it just seems like the nation overseas – particularly the British – are just never afraid to push the envelope and venture into territories that are daring, and intrepid.

When I look at designers like Ashish it’s like a breath of fresh air to me. He has been on the scene since 2001 and you can cop some pieces at Net-A-Porter and Browns Focus. But I do find his reach a bit narrow. I would love to get him over here in Toronto, but maybe it’s all about that humongous break.

Off The Sales Rack: Carte Blanche, Toronto, Canada

In Fashion, In the Know, Off The Sales Rack, Shopping on November 20, 2009 at 2:09 pm


This is your chance!

For those of you in the Toronto area hoping to add some runway luxe to your collection, this coming 20, 21 and 22, niche boutique CARTE BLANCHE is having a sale on ALL JEREMY SCOTT and GARETH PUGH pieces discounted at 35% off.

You better move quick though, the store is located in the über-hip West Queen West district; an area well versed in eclectic fashion.

Who: CARTE BLANCHE

What: Sale on all Gareth Pugh and Jeremy Scott pieces.

When: November 20, 21 and 22.

Where: 758 Queen St. West Toronto, Ontario M6J 1E9

For more info, visit: Shopcarteblanche.ca

Recap: Reebok 20th @ Reebok Lounge, London, UK

In Fashion, In the Know, Recap on November 20, 2009 at 1:49 pm


If you read my previous post; last night was literally the party of sneaker century. London celebs Alice Delal, Jade Jagger (who was spinning a DJ-set with hubby Dan Williams) and Kelly Brook were living it up in celebration of Reebok’s 20th anniversary. Beautiful people, drinks and a deco of color encompassed the Reebok Lounge; and yours truly was there to witness the gorgeousness of it all.

In commemoration of Reebok’s anniversary, specialty retailers Bodega, Alife Rivington Club, Colette, Patta and Size? are releasing limited edition collabs, including a little something new for the ladies.

For more info, visit: Reebok.com