Safra

Archive for November 19th, 2009|Daily archive page

Engage: Peter & The Wolf, New York, NY

In art, culture, Engage, Fashion on November 19, 2009 at 5:12 pm



Works & Process at the Guggenheim presents:

PETER & THE WOLF

Fashion Designer Isaac Mizrahi narrates Sergei Prokofiev’s children’s classic. New York City Opera’s George Manahan conducts the New Juilliard Ensemble. Explore a newly commissioned set installation of sculptures created by the renowned New Orleans-based art collective YA/YA (Young Aspirations/Young Artists), under the artistic direction of Rondell Crier and Rontherin Ratliff. Lighting design by Jennifer Tipton brings this story to life.

Recommended for children ages 5 and older.

Who: Isaac Mizrahi

What: Works & Process at the Guggenheim presents: PETER & THE WOLF

Presented with support from Kerry Clayton and Paige Royer.

Where: Peter B. Lewis Theater

For more information, visit: The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum.
5th Ave at 89th St, New York City 10128

Thu–Mon, Dec 10–14, 4 and 5:30 pm

One to Watch: Rad Hourani

In designer, Fashion, One to Watch on November 19, 2009 at 4:55 pm


Fashion authorities love cultivating the success of burgeoning designers. And we do it because quite frankly, it’s our job. Isabella Blow did it with Alexander McQueen, Diana Vreeland did so for Gabrielle Chanel and the list goings on. For me personally, I have three designers I would wear everyday if I could: Balenciaga, Gareth Pugh and Meadham Kirchhoff. So when I saw NYC-based designer Rad Hourani‘s collection, I was instantly smitten.

His line is for those that love minimalism. The sharp architectural edges, monochromatic palette of blacks, silver and greys and bondage elements are bold, yet very clean – it serves its purpose. I love the fringe embellishments, and while I wouldn’t wear a whole look, I can still make a statement with separates which is what I like (actually, what I prefer). I’m not a maven. I don’t like to wear a designer because it’s a designer, and I stress that for me, it’s more about the art of fashion. That’s why I love the aforementioned designers. I’m also highly influenced by the punk era of the early `70s, and I love the industrial goth look; which is why I like designers who create collections with a dark, edgy reference.

Ultimately, of course the line plays with the ideas of pretentiousness but it’s fun. And the fact that he’s self-taught means he has a natural flare for constructing garments for the human silhouette.

Rad Hourani is a hot one.