Safra

One To Watch: Holly Fulton

In designer, Fashion, Good Look, One to Watch on November 18, 2009 at 5:05 pm


You have to really be in love with an art movement to create a whole collection to it, but as I said in my last post, Ms. Holly Fulton has backed up my wearing your art on your dress trend with plausible reference.

Inspired by Scottish Sculptor Eduardo Paolozzi’s Wittgenstein, her Spring/Summer 2010 collection is architectural, British, and sharp. Cleans lines and colour intertwine with embellishments of sequins, plastic and prints. Most designers who steer along these lines are bordering ostentatious, but Holly’s collection is wearable. Oh how modern; but it’s true. When I had a look at the line, the first thing I thought was “I could actually see a 40-year-old woman wearing this to work” and I think that was the intention. Even though there are fashion-forward references, it’s not dated. As a matter of fact, because of the reference used that makes it classic. The Monochromatic colour schemes remains consistent throughout, and each look breezes through to the next.

I like this one.

Leave a Reply

