Safra

Engage: Jeff Koons – New Paintings

In art, Engage on November 12, 2009 at 10:59 pm

Jeff Koons

When I read the except from the press release of Jeff Koon’s upcoming solo exhibition, I must admit – I was curious. Here’s an excerpt from the press release:

“At first glance the works may seem abstract and gestural, but at the same time they are embedded in the traditions of figurative painting. The brush strokes, which are photorealistic in their application, are actually fake brush strokes in the style of Roy Lichtenstein — but at the same time they support the totality of gesture and action in life itself.”

I don’t know Jeff Koons as anything else other than a man who does big, sellable scultpures and voyeristic art (into his own life, that is). But I did experience seeing Mr. Koons’ boyant sculptures juxtaposed against the Versailles’ stiff ambiance.  It was surprisingly –  a luxurious experience. I say this because both are historic, both carry a prestige; and two completely different experiences were curated (regardless to whether it caused an uproar amongst Parisians) and it worked, beautifully.

What I do know is that when his art pertains to real people, it’s not without controversy. What I say? He’s a modern artist. But there is something enthralling and decadent about this image and I wish I was in LA right now, so I could see the whole show.

Who: Jeff Koons

What: New Paintings, solo Exhibition

When: Nov 14, 2009 – Jan 9, 2010

Where: Gagosian Gallery
Beverly Hills
456 North Camden Drive
Beverly Hills, CA 90210

Contact: 310.271.9400, or email: losangeles@gagosian.com.

For more information, visit Gagosian.com.

Leave a Reply

