Safra

Archive for November 12th, 2009|Daily archive page

Engage: An Evening with Stephen King

In Books, culture on November 12, 2009 at 11:28 pm

Stephen King
Excuse my french, but how fucking cool is that?

Ever since I can remember all I’ve ever wanted to do was congregate with like-minded writers. And now, in my home town (not to mention for a PRICE), I have the opportunity to listen to a man whose books scared the beejeezes out of me, fucked up my mental and made me afraid of the dark to this very day. Well, like they say, confront your fears, that’s the only way they’ll go away. Yes, Stephen King will be here for the launch of his new book ‘UNDER THE DOME.’

OH MY GOSH! And did I mention he’ll be in conversation with the legendary, just-as-creepy David Cronenberg? And Toronto’s primetime TV impresario George Stroumboulopoulos will be hosting?

Come on… How good does this get?!? This is a once in a lifetime opportunity. Tickets are between $28-$33 and are available for purchase at ticketking.com.
Who: Stephen King, sidelined by David Cronenberg and George Stroumboulopoulos.

What: Launch of King’s new book “Under the Dome’.

When: Thursday, November 19, 2009. 8:00pm – 9:30pm.

Where: The Canon Theatre , 244 Victoria St., Toronto, ON M5B 1V8.

Contact: (416) 872-1212.

This is a is presented by Chapters Indigo.

Engage: Jeff Koons – New Paintings

In art, Engage on November 12, 2009 at 10:59 pm

Jeff Koons

When I read the except from the press release of Jeff Koon’s upcoming solo exhibition, I must admit – I was curious. Here’s an excerpt from the press release:

“At first glance the works may seem abstract and gestural, but at the same time they are embedded in the traditions of figurative painting. The brush strokes, which are photorealistic in their application, are actually fake brush strokes in the style of Roy Lichtenstein — but at the same time they support the totality of gesture and action in life itself.”

I don’t know Jeff Koons as anything else other than a man who does big, sellable scultpures and voyeristic art (into his own life, that is). But I did experience seeing Mr. Koons’ boyant sculptures juxtaposed against the Versailles’ stiff ambiance.  It was surprisingly –  a luxurious experience. I say this because both are historic, both carry a prestige; and two completely different experiences were curated (regardless to whether it caused an uproar amongst Parisians) and it worked, beautifully.

What I do know is that when his art pertains to real people, it’s not without controversy. What I say? He’s a modern artist. But there is something enthralling and decadent about this image and I wish I was in LA right now, so I could see the whole show.

Who: Jeff Koons

What: New Paintings, solo Exhibition

When: Nov 14, 2009 – Jan 9, 2010

Where: Gagosian Gallery
Beverly Hills
456 North Camden Drive
Beverly Hills, CA 90210

Contact: 310.271.9400, or email: losangeles@gagosian.com.

For more information, visit Gagosian.com.

Why don’t you wear animal print

In designer, Fashion, Good Look, Trend, why don't you on November 12, 2009 at 12:44 am

it’s not only for cougars, you know. It’s a firey, confidence booster, and you’ll love how it emphasizes your curvaceous – or lack there of – figure.

While the animal print wasn’t a major trend on the runway, the designers that did it (Dian Van Furstenberg, Giambattista Valli, L.A.M.B respectively) held a consistent theme: The Safari adventure.

Wrapping your silhouette in animal print is much like a venture in the dangerous Congo; beware of the predator. For, when he sets his eye on you, he’ll want to do more than just buy you dinner (wink).

It’s deadly. Deadly sexy… indeed.