Safra

One to Watch: Peter Pilotto

In designer, Fashion, One to Watch, RTW, Trend on November 10, 2009 at 8:24 pm


Without me even realizing it, everyone is using the same format as me where blogging is concerned. But if I say that someone is one-to-watch, it’s because nothing really excites me. I’m a bland dresser – very bland, and I’m more fascinated with the depth behind fashion rather than the actual garment itself. So no, I don’t buy designer clothes very often, and I won’t rush to get the latest piece of whatever… but I know a look when I see it. I say that about fashion stars as well.

Peter Pilotto is a fashion star. When you’re a burgeoning star, you’re given free things, such as studio space so you can mould your craft. Low and behold, much like Mr. Pilotto in the Centre for Fashion Enterprise. According to Style.com, Pilotto is on the rise to the moon, people are going ga-ga over his designs which raises the bar, and bursts the Richter scale. And as much as we’d like to believe that new designers such as Pilotto would tank under pressure, I believe it’s only ignition. And it’s obvious because his Spring/Summer 2010 collection was a display of colours juxtaposed with texture, literally. The collection seemed to be a bit of an ode to the `60s with square-like A-line mini-skirts with ruched shoulders and waistlines.

I don’t know if I’d say Peter Pilotto’s collection is the ultimate sexy, but it is in the top running, it shows where fashion is going – in a positive direction.

I will be keeping an eye on this one..

Leave a Reply

