Safra

Hunter Boot OUT, Moovboot IN!

In Fashion, Out vs. IN, Shoes, Shopping, Trend on November 9, 2009 at 3:27 pm

It’s quite liberating when you’re one of the few to spot a new fashion yes. Not that Hunter boots are bad (I’m still waiting to get those god-Awful Uggs), but you know that once it’s been filtered through the saturation process, it’s probably time to move on.

A couple of months ago when I was shopping for Wellie prospects, I walked into Queen West’s shoe boutique Get Outside when literally, an Ali G wannabe Sales rep tried to talk me into benefits of buying a Hunter Boot. My eye zoomed on an interesting looking pair of rainboots by a brand I didn’t know, but the price was a startling $350 dollars! “Why would I spend so much on rainboots?” He didn’t know how to answer the question. He asked his colleague behind the cash desk. “Because there moooovboots” she responded in a didn’t you know tone. Well, I still wasn’t convinced, and ended up getting my biker stormy rubber boots by Michael Kors for $170 instead.

Months later I’m looking for the new trend. I was contemplating between Burberry’s traditional checked wellies and even Lacoste’s bright coloured Welby ones, but I decided to give these Moovboots a try.

The Moovboot is an Australian brand made by sister-duo Meisha Strykowski and Bryony Proctor. According their website, the moovboot is a “sheepskin lined luxury Wellingtons,” and the brand places emphasis on creating a culture of dreamlike qualities rather than a regular ole’ fashion boot. Moovboot made a major launch in Canada this past October and while I’m not sure if they’re produce the results they want here, if they can get the boots on to enough blogs like this one, and some slebrity product placements they may become the next big thing.

Leave a Reply

